Rmi LogoA World of Music
New ReleasesLinks

Last Concert
Last Concert cover

Last Concert (What's New WNCJ-2120) is the live recording of Sir Roland's last concert. The performance was in Asaka Sangyo Bunka Center, Japan, October 5, 2002. Sir Roland Hanna, piano; Eiji Nakayama, bass; Mihoko Hazama, violin. Produced by Eiji Nakayama

Track Listings
1. Softly as in a Morning Sunrise
2. Cosmic Sea
3. Song of the Bird
4. By Myself
5. This Is My Beloved
6. Adagietto
7. Rin
8. Heartstrings
9. Satin Doll

Order Last Concert from Amazon.com

Milano, Paris, New York cover

Imperatives of collective thinking and interplay dominate Milano, Paris, New York, Finding John Lewis (Venus 35303, 57:33, ), and elegant swinging meditation by Hanna, bassist George Mraz and drummer Lewis Nash on five Lewis originals and three ambitious compositions by the leader. Hanna's percussive, orchestral variations reveal his deep connection to Detroit piano heroes Hank Jones, Tommy Flanagan and Barry Harris and he sustains the ongoing high-low dialogue between the vocabularies of Euro-classical and bob-blues vernacular that marks both his own life's work and that of the album's dedicatee.-

--Ted Panken

One More - The Music of Thad Jones
One More - Music of Thad Jones cover

One More - The Music of Thad Jones (IPO 1007)

To celebrate the 40th anniversary of the formation of the Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra, and as an excuse to play the compositions of the late great Thad Jones, a group of top jazz veterans was enlisted for this project. Michael Patterson arranged 11 of Jones' songs, adapting Thad's own arrangements, which were originally made for either combos or a big band, for the all-star octet. Each of the veteran musicians had an association with Thad Jones. Happily, they all sound in pretty good form, with the tenors of Benny Golson, James Moody, and Frank Wess battling it out on "One More." A tape of the late pianist Sir Roland Hanna is used during the first part of Jones' most famous original, "A Child Is Born." Jimmy Owens proves to be an excellent fill-in for Thad; this is one of his finest recordings. It is also fitting that Thad's older brother, Hank Jones, is on piano. The final number, Thelonious Monk's "Monk's Mood," is included because it was one of Thad Jones' favorite songs. All in all, this is a well-conceived and very musical tribute.

—Scott Yanow
All Music Guide

Perhaps the word "perfection" is seen too often in music reviews. Nevertheless, One More - Music Of Thad Jones deserves that honor. There isn't a mediocre track anywhere. Seasoned fans know and love these compositions and novices won't find a better introduction to an unforgettable jazz composer. One More - Music Of Thad Jones just never stops swinging.

—JazzReview.com—JazzTimes (Nat Hentoff's "Final Chorus")

"…a session that can be an introduction for someone who wants to get into the essence of jazz - and will delight those who already know and can't get enough of it."

—JazzTimes (Nat Hentoff's "Final Chorus")

Track Listing
1. Subtle Rebuttal
2. Thad's Pad
3. Kids are Pretty People
4. One More
5. Mean What You Say
6. A Child is Born
7. Bossa Nova Ova
8. The Waltz You Swang for Me
9. H&T Blues
10. Consummation
11. The Farewell
12. Monk's Mood

Order "One More" from IPO Recordings
Order "One More" from Amazon.com

Tributaries: Reflections on Tommy Flanagan - Sir Roland Hanna
Tributaries: Reflections on Tommy Flanagan cover

Tributaries: Reflections on Tommy Flanagan (IPO 1004). Ending this inspiring concert is Roland’s tender version of Tommy Flanagan’s "Delarna." This moving tribute to his departed friend is a fitting close to a remarkable program performed by a remarkable artist who, in Duke Ellington's much used phrase, was truly "beyond category." Not many solo pianists can hold one’s interest for an entire CD. The scope and variety of this musical journey could only be expressed by a talent like Sir Roland Hanna.

--Dick Katz

(Highest Rating) Detroit Free Press review

Track Listing
1. Sea Changes
2. A Child is Born
3. Body and Soul
4. Soon
5. Things Ain't What They Used to Be
6. Never Let Me Go
7. 'Tis
8. I Concentrate on You
9. Robin's Nest
10. Delarna

Order "Tributaries" from IPO Recordings
Order "Tributaries" from Amazon



HOME | Biography | Book | CDs | Contact Us | Discography | Links | New Releases | Order Form | Search | Sheet Music | Mailing List

Report problems with this site to
Copyright © 2001-2016 by Rahanna Music Inc. All rights reserved.